Fair Housing

Fair Housing - It’s not an Option, It’s the Law

The federal Fair Housing Act gives you the right to rent or buy a home without discrimination. Fair housing laws identify certain groups of people, called "protected classes." 

Protected classes include:

  • Color
  • Disability
  • Familial status
  • Gender
  • National origin
  • Race
  • Religion

The New Mexico Human Rights Act also prohibits discrimination based upon ancestry, sexual orientation, spousal affiliation and gender identity. The Fair Housing Act covers most housing, with certain exceptions, and makes it illegal to discriminate against any person in the sale, rental and financing of housing.